Painting cars

Note: Everything in here is DIY and at your own risk, this stuff WILL void your waranty

Moderator: schoey

Painting cars

Postby pauleden » Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:17 am

Evening guys, first post from me! :)

Like many, I suspect, I bought 2 starter sets from Amazon here in the UK - it's a cost efficient way of getting a load of track and 4 cars.

Now of course, but I now have two cars each of the same colour. I've seen a couple of pictures and posts mentioning painted cars and I have no experience or talent at all in this, I thought I'd try to gather comments, hints and tips from those that do.

I was thinking I'd quite like to paint one of red and one of my yellow cars to look like the extra cars that are on sale, so one in black and one in blue. I see the Real FX stickers can be taken off the shell with care.

Thanks in advance,

Paul
pauleden

Re: Painting cars

Postby edd2402 » Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:29 pm

hi,
you could mask off the windows and use a craft knife to get the neat window edges.
then light rub with some wet and dry fine course sandpaper so the paint will key to the body.
then get some plastic model paint from your local model shop (ideally spray on), apply a very thin fine layer of primer, let it dry. then the same again so just about all the red or yellow is no longer showing and dry again.
apply your first coat of colour again a thin layer leave to dry for hour or 2 depending on room temp. same again, and third time if needed.
then up to you if you do a laqure also but not always needed depending on effect required.
after last layer leave for full 24 hours before handling incase its still setting underneath so you dont leave finger marks in it.

the main key in this is small thin coats as you dont want any air pockets or runs in the paint.

good luck
edd2402

Postby pauleden » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:54 am